The mission of OhioMeansJobs Summit County is to maximize employment and economic opportunity in Summit County by being the resource for every job seeker and employer in the region.

The existence of OhioMeansJobs Summit County is mandated and steered by a federal law called the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) of 1998. The Office of Workforce Development, under the Department of Labor’s agency Employment and Training Administration, outlines the following as the mission of WIA Adult Services and Workforce System:

The Division of WIA Adult Services and Workforce System’s mission is to contribute to the implementation of an integrated national workforce investment system that supports economic growth and provides workers with the information, advice, job search assistance, supportive services, and training in demand industries and occupations they need to get and keep good jobs and provide employers with skilled workers by: 1) providing national leadership, oversight, policy guidance, and technical assistance to the workforce investment system; 2) working collaboratively with other Federal agencies and partners and stakeholders, the continuum of education, and state and local governments to promote a strong economy by building a prepared and competitive workforce; and 3) managing strategically in order to ensure high performance, greater public accountability, and service quality. (Source: Office of Workforce Investment)

On July 1, 2015, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) will supersede WIA. It will be the first legislative reform in 15 years of the public workforce system. Like WIA, WIOA is designed to help job seekers access employment, education, training, and support services to succeed in the labor market and to match employers with the skilled workers they need to compete in the global economy. The US Department of Labor will issue further guidance on the timeframes for implementation of these changes and proposed regulations reflecting the changes in WIOA soon after enactment. (Source: US Department of Labor)