The Northeast Ohio Workforce (NOW) Region Invites the Public to Comment on the Regional and Local Plans

In accordance with the requirements of the Workforce Innovation Opportunity Act of 2014 (WIOA)which is administered by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration and the State of Ohio’s Department of Job and Family Services, the Northeast Ohio Workforce (NOW) Regional and Local Plans for each of NOW’s five local workforce are available for public comment. The public comment period will close on March 19, 2017 at 11:59 PM.

The NOW Regional Plan was developed over a twelve month period by the five participating local Workforce Development Boards (WDBs) in an eight county area of Northeast Ohio that includes Ashtabula, Cuyahoga/City of Cleveland, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage and Summit Counties. The five distinct Workforce Development Boards ,representing Ohio Workforce Areas #2, 3, 4, 5, and 19, have been working together to formalize the Regional WIOA NOW Plan and to coordinate their policies, services and strategic initiatives.

The five boards have identified the region’s key sectors and industries which are economic drivers in the economy. They are:

  1. Healthcare;
  2. Manufacturing, and;
  3. Information Technology.

They have also coordinated their efforts with their respective Chief Local Elected Officials (CLEOs), the region’s four community colleges (Lorain County Community College, Cuyahoga Community College, Lakeland Community College, and Stark State College), local and regional economic development entities, Workforce Board and Committee members, businesses and business intermediaries, workforce employment and training providers, and OhioMeansJobs (OMJ) staff and leadership. A highlight of regional engagement was the opportunity to co-sponsor a day-long Workforce Summit with the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland on June 1, 2016 which was attended by over 200 participants who provided input to this plan.

A copy of the NOW Regional Plan and NOW’s Local Area Plans are been posted online through this website on behalf of NOW. Public comments will be collected until Sunday, March 19, 2017 at 11:59 PM. Comments are collected through  the comment form available on this site. Upon acceptance, the plan will be in effect for four years: from 2017 – 2021.